Smith 5th Grade Blog 2012

Parents and teachers – Do you have a special recipe that is loved by many in Richmond, Texas?

Posted on: January 15, 2012

Recently, I was in the middle of developing a movie on the foods we love here in Richmond, Texas, for our epals in the country of Georgia, and I realized that I would really need our parents and teachers involved to make it work. I abandoned the idea for a while to think it through better.

Then I came across a blog mentioning a 30 day teacher challenge at Edublogs (link below) about getting parents involved with a good blog question, and I thought that this would be a great time to start.

I am most importantly interested in why your recipes are important to your family and if others eat your savory dish here in Texas!

Originally, I wanted our Georgia students to get the “flavor” of our state of Texas and invited our students to bring recipes to school (although I must admit the recipes were also used for a fraction lesson on mixed fractions). This was my favorite recipe from my wonderful student Dalila. I can almost imagine the inviting aromas in the kitchen with the warmth of Dalila’s mother’s loving cooking. She stated that this is a treat that originated from El Salvador but is very popular here in Richmond, Texas!

http://teacherchallenge.edublogs.org/about/

2 Responses to "Parents and teachers – Do you have a special recipe that is loved by many in Richmond, Texas?"

Our first response is from teacher Jacqueline Schneider:

My family originated mainly from the country of Czechoslovakia known now as the Czech (pronouned “check”) Republic. It is located right next to Russia. The part of the Czech Republick that my family actually came from was a part of Romania at one time. Whenever we had company over or had a celebration such as a birthday or baptism we baked a rounded roll that had a fruit filling called a “kolache”.

Note from Mrs. Esswein:
I will post the recipe when I can figure out a way to insert a slide. However, I will tell you that Mrs. Scheider is the koache queen and I often tasted her masterpieces.

Mrs. Schneider’s “secret” recipe:

The recipe for the kolache is:

6 Tbsp. butter
4 Tbsp. sugar (add 1-2 Tbsp more if you want your dough sweeter)
1 tsp. salt
1 c. milk scalded
2 1/2 tsp. yeast
1/4 c. luke warm water
4 c. sifted flour
1 egg well beaten

Add butter, sugar and salt to the scalded milk. When the milk has coolded to luke warm, add the yeast and warm water to the mixture. Add one cup of flour at a time beating in between each cup. Add the egg after the third cup of flour. After all of the flour has added and the dough has a satin sheen, place the dough into a greased bowl and let it rise until it has doubled in size. Punch the dough down and place it into the refrigerator for 15-20 minutes and then begin working with the dough. Form 50-cent size balls, form a small crater in the center and place your fruit filling in the middle. Place each ball about 1 1/2 inches from each other. When the tray is full, place it in a warm place and let rise until edges of kolaches meet. Bake at 350 until kolaches are golden brown. After removing from oven coat with a mixture of condensed milk and powdered sugar.

Leave a Reply

Visitors to blog

RSS Technology Made Simple

  • Math Landing consolidates web math activities
    If you have used Math Forum or have read about Drexel activities on this site, you will find Math Landing, now being tested, an amazing site. Give it a try at: http://www.mathlanding.org/
  • Compete around the world with math
    Great on-line game website mentioned on the Free Technology for Teachers site called Tutpup http://www.tutpup.com/. The math and spelling games load fast and students get to compete with students around the world. This site is perfect for mental math activitites.
  • Pay math students like rock stars
    The Houston Chronicle had a great story about Kaggle competitions today. See the competitions at http://www.kaggle.com/competitions. The article stated that the job market for mathematicians is huge since computing has become so inexpensive and fast. There is a need for … Continue reading →
  • Perk up behavior in your classroom!
    Today I discovered Class Dojo http://www.classdojo.com/ As we head into a time period of a little more creativity in the classroom, this site looks like a terrific way to point out positive behavior in the classroom. For myself, I wouldn’t … Continue reading →
  • Fun with 6th grade math
    Since we can’t post videos on Edublog anymore – might as well make it a stop for fun interactive games. To review for rounding decimals (Scooter Quest): http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/mathgames/decimals/scooterQuestDecRound.htm To reteach for order of operations (Millionaire): http://www.math-play.com/Order-of-Operations-Millionaire/order-of-operations-mill […]
  • Math Wire Algebraic Activities
    Last year we explored the activies at Math Wire and I have forgotten how much they have available. I guess this is an issue for experienced teachers, and I have to find a way to get my technology to keep … Continue reading →
  • Math challenge with videos
    Really, I can’t keep up with Free 4 Teachers this week. I just watched a video with rappers recording in a studio and explaining the importance of math. An algebraic math challenge follows the video. There are two other videos … Continue reading →
  • Math minimum wage lesson
    If you are visiting college campuses this spring with your students, I can’t think of a better lesson to teach students the value of a college education. Teacher Richard Byrne developed this lesson to show students the constraints of earning … Continue reading →
  • New design site
    Just found this fascinating site at http://www.freetech4teachers.com/ and fell in love with it. It is for middle school students, but I suspect some of my students might enjoy it. I will check it out during the next break. My favorite … Continue reading →
  • Challenging math problem
    Sometimes I think that we don’t challenge our students with interesting and difficult problems and projects. I also think we need to be careful on wrapping up projects in one class lesson. Giving additional days, allows students to think further … Continue reading →
